A Work In Progress

Reflections Of A Mommy & Homemaker

That’s In My Shampoo! March 10, 2008

Filed under: Going Green — briem @ 7:31 pm

shampoo.jpg

So lately I feel like God has just been sending a wealth of information my way. Alot of it has come from blogs that I read. However this next bit of information came from my good friend Mary.

Did you know that there are alot of toxic ingredients in our shampoos, conditioners, makeup, toothpaste & soaps (even the ones we put on our babies and toddlers!). I just rececently found this out within the last several months. You would think that when we shop at our favorite stores, they would sell us only good, safe products. Unfortunately, nowdays that is just not the case. We have entered an era where toxic ingredients invade many of the the things we use on a regualar basis.

Thankfully I discovered this website: www.cosmeticdatabase.com

Here is what they state on their home page:

“Skin Deep is a safety guide to cosmetics and personal care products brought to you by researchers at the Environmental Working Group.”

“Skin Deep pairs ingredients in more than 25,000 products against 50 definitive toxicity and regulatory databases, making it the largest integrated data resource of its kind. Why did a small nonprofit take on such a big project? Because the FDA doesn’t require companies to test their own products for safety.”

This site is so helpful because you can type in the actual product you use (Suave, Covergirl, etc) and check to see if there are any toxic ingredients. I searched out some of the products that I commonly used and was shocked at the things I found out. I really encourage you to check out the products that you commonly use, especially what you put on your babies. I have even found that some organic and natural products on their site have some toxic ingredients.

If any of you use products that you have found to be generally safe and that you are happy with, please leave a comment. I would love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

